SOMEONE once said: “Love is a language spoken by two people in an emotional relationship.”

The quote highlights love as a language communicated by those with an emotional connection.

If that is the case, then maybe the concept of love-languages might have stemmed from the above quote.

According to relationship experts, love-languages are ways one expresses their love and affection for someone.

These, according to experts, can be verbal and non-verbal communication.

The concept of love languages was developed by Gary Chapman, in his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, where he describes these five unique styles of communicating love, categories he distilled from his experience in marriage counselling and linguistics.

This concept has rapidly become popular in recent times and many people use this concept to benchmark their relationships.

According to, this is how you can master these 5 love-languages:

1.Express words of affection

Frequent I love you, compliments, words of appreciation, verbal encouragement, and often frequent digital communication like texting and social media engagement do the trick. According to couple’s psychotherapist, Fariha Mahmud-Syed, written and spoken words shows of affection matter the most to most lovers.

2.Make time for quality time

People whose love language is quality time feel the most adored when their partner actively wants to spend time with them and is always down to hang out. They particularly love when active listening, eye contact, and full presence are prioritized hallmarks in the relationship.

3.Show acts of services

If your love language is acts of service, you value when your partner goes out of their way to make your life easier. It’s things like bringing you soup when you’re sick, making your coffee for you in the morning, or picking up your dry cleaning for you when you’ve had a busy day at work. This love language is for people who believe that actions speak louder than words.

4.Buy them gifts

Gifts is a pretty straightforward love language. You feel loved when people give you visual symbols of love. This love-language is the most popular of them all.

5.Show physical affection

People with physical touch as their love language feel loved when they receive physical signs of affection, including kissing, holding hands, cuddling on the couch, and sex. Physical intimacy and touch can be incredibly affirming and serve as a powerful emotional connector for people with this love language.