Table topping Kaizer Chiefs have won the 2019/20 Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter One – the first quarter victory by in four seasons.

Amakhosi have not won a Quarter since 2014/15 season – which happens to be the last time they lifted the league title.

In that season, under the tutelage of Stuart Baxter, The Glamour Boys won both Quarter One and Quarter Four.

This season, they claim the top spot with 19 points from eight fixtures – two points clear of close rivals, Mamelodi Sundowns who finished second in the quarter with 17 points from the same number of matches.

For their efforts, Chiefs will be rewarded with a cool R1, 5 million in prize money.

Although the point difference on the current log standings show a lop-sided contest at the moment, the battle for top spot in Quarter One was closer than many think.

Defending champions Sundowns and Bidvest Wits pushed Chiefs to the end while the likes of Highlands Park, SuperSport United and Polokwane City quietly went about their business also finishing inside the top six bracket.