7 months ago
BURNLEY, ENGLAND - AUGUST 16: Emmanuel Adebayor of
Emmanuel Adebayor of Istanbul Basaksehir and Togo.  ~ Getty Images

Togo coach Claude LeRoy has included striker Emmanuel Adebayor in his 23-man squad for this month's 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Algeria, despite Adebayor refusing to play in the October internationals.

Adebayor did not play against The Gambia in Lome because of the poor state of the artificial playing surface and did not travel for the return match either.

LeRoy said he fully understood Adebayor's decision, but it remains unclear whether the veteran forward will face Algeria on the same artificial pitch on home soil.

The Frenchman also handed recalls to Africa-based Ouro-Akoriko Sadate and Wilson Akakpo, with both replacing the suspended duo of Djene Dakonam and Ouro-Sama Hakim for the crucial game on 18 November.

Without their attacking talisman, Togo earned a 1-1 draw in Lome before winning the return fixture 1-0 in The Scorpions last month.

The results left Togo third in the group with five points from four matches - just two behind the leaders Algeria and Benin.

With 29 goals in 65 caps, the return of the countries all-time record scorer will provide Le Roy's side with a major boost of confidence.

The Sparrow Hawks need a victory at home to upstage Group D leaders Algeria in their penultimate match of 2019 Nations Cup qualifying.

Squad in full:
Goalkeepers: Sabirou Bassa Djeri (Coton Sport, Cameroon), Malcolm Barcola (Olympique Lyonnais, France), Fadil Soumanou (Koroki)
Defenders: Wilson Akakpo (Al Ittihad, Egypt), Bilali Akoro (AS OTR), Simon Gbegnon (AS Beziers, France), Maklibé Kouloum (Dyto Lome), Tevi Steve Lawson (Livingstone, Scotland), James Olufade (Union Douala, Cameroon), Ouro-Akoriko Sadate (Amazulu FC, South Africa)

Midfielders: Lalawele Atakora (FK Qabala, Azerbaijan), Koffi Franco Atchou (Fremad Amager, Denmark), Floyd Ayite (Fulham, England), Ihlas Bebou (Hannover 96, Germany), Razak Boukari (Chateauroux, France), Matthieu Dossevi (Toulouse, France), Gilles Sunu (Erzurumspor, Turkey)

Forwards: Emmanuel Adebayor (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey), Kevin Denkey (Nimes, France), Kodjo Fo-Doh Laba (Renaissance Berkane, Morocco), Peniel Mlapa (VVV Venlo, Netherlands), Bodzroma Jean (Koroki), Kossi Koudagba (ASC Kara)

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining