ANC chief whip Pemmy Majodina and secretary general Ace Magashule denied on Wednesday that the list of nominations for Parliament's committee chairpersons is the outcome of a factional balancing act.

The nominations were announced on Wednesday after an ANC caucus meeting earlier in the day.

This while MPs and former ministers during Jacob Zuma's tenure as president, who are seemingly resistant to root out state capture and who are not basking in the rays of the new dawn, will chair some committees.

"When we approach deployment, we don't approach deployment in a factional manner," Majodina said. 

"Because deployed here are members of the ANC who came out of the process of the list conference," she added.

"Experience, capacity, new people, women and youth are considered in the balancing act. 

"Not really being led through factional groupings. We did not consider that."

Magashule was singing from the same hymn sheet.

"As the chief whip has said, we don't put people on a factional basis. So that analysis is not correct," he said.

"The ANC officials, we are very happy that we have been working together very consistently. We just read in the media that the SG [secretary general] is going this way, the president is going this way, it's not true at all."

He also had some advice for the media: "Focus on SONA [State of the Nation Address], rather than individuals. Give the president that space and time."

The nominations for the National Assembly are: 

·         House chairperson (chair of chairs): Cedric Frolick

·  House chairperson (member's interests): Grace Boroto

·  House chairperson (international relations): Madala Ntombela

·  Programming whip: Chana Pilane Majeka

·  House whip: Bheki Radebe

·  Agriculture, land reform and rural development: Mandla Mandela

·  Environment, forestry and fisheries: Fikile Xasa

·  Home affairs: Bongani Bongo

·  Police: Tina Joemat-Pettersson 

·  Public works and infrastructure: Nolitha Ntobongwana

·  Basic education: Zukiswa Faku

·  Human settlements, water and sanitation: Rosina Semenya

·  Employment and labour: Lindelwa Dutywa 

·  Health: Sibongiseni Dlomo

·  Justice and correctional services: Gratitude Magwanishe

·  Public enterprises: Khaya Magaxa

·  Sports, arts and culture: Beauty Dlulane

·  Transport: Mosebenzi Zwane

·  Defence and military veterans: Cyril Xaba

·  Higher education, science and technology: Mapulane Phillemon

·  Minerals, resources and energy: Luzipho Sahlulile

·  Public service and administration and minister in the presidency: James Tyotyo

·  Small business development: Violet Siwela

·  Tourism: Supra Mahumapelo

·  Communications: Hope Papo

·  Finance: Joe Maswanganyi

·  International relations and cooperation: Tandi Mahambehlala

·  Women, youth and people with disabilities: Nhlanhla Ncube

·  Social development: Mondli Gungubele

·  Trade and industry: Duma Nkosi

·  Cooperative governance and traditional affairs: Faith Muthambi

·  Appropriations: Sfiso Buthelezi

·  Auditor-General: Sakhumzi Somyo

·  Multi-Party Women's Caucus: Kate Bilankulu

·  Joint Committee on Ethics and Members' Interests: Bheki Nkosi

·  Joint Constitutional Review Committee: Mathole Motshekga

·  Joint Standing Committee on the Financial Management of Parliament: Peace Mabe

·  Ad Hoc Committee to amend Section 25 of the Constitution: Mathole Motshekga

The nominations for the National Council of Provinces are:

·         House chairperson (committees): Jomo Nyambi

·  House chairperson (oversight and institutional support): Winnie Ngwenya

·  Education, technology, sports, arts and culture: Eleck Nchableng

·  Social development and services: Maurencia Gillion

·  Economy and public infrastructure: Kenny Mmoiemang

·  Finance: Yunus Carrim

·  Appropriations: Dikeledi Mahlangu

·  Governance and traditional affairs: China Dodovu

·  Security and justice: Shaik Shahidabibi

·  Land reform and natural resources: Tebogo Modise

·  Trade and international relations: Mandla Rayi

·  Communications and public enterprises: Mmamora Mamaregane

·  Petitions and the executive: Zukiswa Ncitha

·  Joint Committee on Ethics and Members Interests: Lydia Moshodi

·  Joint Constitutional Review Committee: Enoch Mthethwa

·  Majodina said they were still in "political engagements" with an opposition party on who will be chairperson of the important watchdog, the Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

The name of the chairperson of the intelligence committee will be announced after vetting has been completed.